Wednesday, November 14, 2007

Steven Spielberg To Receive the Cecil B. DeMille Award

The Hollywood Foreign Press Association has announced the recipient for this year's Cecil B. DeMille Award: Steven Spielberg.

As I correctly supposed in my 11/11/07 post, it is Spielberg who was chosen to break the HFPA's long string of performers as recipients of the award: he is the first entirely non-performer to get it since 1977! This opens a big can of worms for the HFPA as they are now quite behind on their producer/director honorees (Nichols, Lucas, Coppola, Scorsese, Lynch, Stone, Lee, Coen, Tarantino— just to name a few of the Americans).

Click here for a link to the Cecil B. DeMille Award on the HFPA's website.

No comments: