Monday, January 5, 2009

Kansas City Film Critics Circle Choose "Slumdog Millionaire"

The Kansas Film Critics Circle (the oldest regional critics group outsie of the New York Film Critics Circle) have announced their 2008 winners.

The 42nd Annual KCFCC Awards

Best Film: Slumdog Millionaire
Robert Altman Award for Best Director: Darren Aronofsky - The Wrestler
Best Actor: Mickey Rourke - The Wrestler
Best Actress: Meryl Streep - Doubt
Best Supporting Actor: Heath Ledger - The Dark Knight
Best Supporting Actress: Penelope Cruz - Vicky Cristina Barcelona
Best Original Screenplay: Robert Siegel - The Wrestler
Best Adapted Screenplay: Simon Beaufoy - Slumdog Millionaire
Best Foreign Language Film: Let the Right One In (Sweden)
Best Documentary: Man on Wire
Best Animated Film: WALL-E
Vince Koehler Award for Best Science Fiction, Fantasy, or Horror Film: The Dark Knight

Of note: Although the KCFCC has bestowed four previous acting awards to Meryl Streep, the last one was for Out of Africa (1985)!

Seems to me that with the exception of Best Director for Aronofsky, these are the people to beat for the Oscar.

Link to the KCFCC site.

No comments: